NHMA was proud to kick off the creation of its 6 Regional Steering Committees, who will lead our regional activities across the United States, at our 17th Annual Conference in April 2013.  The NHMA Board of Directors planned the new structure in order to build participation opportunities with its Members and Partners, and to provide physicians, health care providers, and other health care leaders with updated information about the Affordable Care Act implementation.

The 6 regions include the following:


Chair: Diana Torres-Burgos, MD, MPH

Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont

DC Metro Area

Co-Chairs: Minerva Campos, MD and Sergio Rimola, MD

Washington DC, Virginia, Maryland


Chair: Flavia Mercado, MD

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia


Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin


Arkansas, Colorado, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas


Co-Chairs: Daniel Turner Lloveras, MD; Ilan Shapiro, MD

Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming

The Regional Events will include a Resident Mentoring Meeting followed by a Networking Reception with a speaker from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services who will provide the latest on the implementation of the Affordable Care Act.  If you are a Resident or Physician interested in becoming a mentee or mentor at the meetings, or if you are interested in Sponsoring the meetings, or if you are interested in additional information about the regional events, please call our office at 202-628-5895.   


1920 L St., NW, Suite 725
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: 202-628-5895
Fax: 202-628-5898
Email: nhma@nhmamd.org